The Pakistan Super League has gone through a significant personnel transformation over its years of existence with numerous overseas players having appeared in the competition and domestic stars lighting up the tournament both young and old. Many cricketers of different eras and nations have gone on to win the coveted 'PSL Player of the Tournament' and here we shine the spotlight on them ahead of the Pakistan Super League's eighth edition.

The table below, shows the records of all six PSL franchises when it comes to finals, highlighting not only those years in which they won the tournament, but also those where they finished as runners-up.

Pakistan Super League TeamsWinnersRunners-up
Islamabad United2016, 2018None
Karachi Kings2020None
Lahore Qalandars20222020
Multan Sultans20212022
Peshawar Zalmi20172018, 2019, 2021
Quetta Gladiators20192016, 2017

And here are the seven previous 'Player of the Tournament' winners, the team whom they represented at the time, along with their nationality.

YearEditionPlayer of the TournamentPSL TeamNationality
2016PSL 1Ravi BoparaKarachi KingsEngland
2017PSL 2Kamran AkmalPeshawar ZalmiPakistan
2018PSL 3Luke RonchiIslamabad UnitedAustralia/New Zealand
2019PSL 4Shane WatsonQuetta GladiatorsAustralia
2020PSL 5Babar AzamKarachi KingsPakistan
2021PSL 6Sohaib MaqsoodMultan SultansPakistan
2022PSL 7Mohammad RizwanMultan SultansPakistan

Vastly experienced all-rounder Ravi Bopara became the first winner of the award, despite his Karachi Kings' side not going on to win the inaugural Pakistan Super League tournament. Bopara is a veteran in franchise cricket and is also an ICC Men's T20 World Cup winner with England.

Since then, plenty of star names have won the award. Luke Ronchi, the only cricketer to represent both Australia and New Zealand in international cricket won the PSL 3 Player of the Tournament, before Australian Shane Watson took home the award a year later. Since then, the following three winners have all been Pakistan cricketers, with batter Babar Azam and wicket-keeper-batter Mohammad Rizwan each having now established themselves as arguably the best two players Pakistan have at their disposal. The two open the batting together for the national team in T20 cricket.