The Most Valuable Player (MVP) award was introduced in the Indian Premier League from the 2013 season and prior to that a player of the tournament award was given to the best player of IPL from 2008 to 2012.

Now, the same tradition of IPL is set to be followed in the WPL as well. Apart from MVP, the orange cap and purple cap for leading batter and bowler is also set to be awarded in the Women's Premier League.

The Most Valuable Player in WPL is ranked based on special rating system, which rewards players points for every four, six, wicket, dot ball, catches, run outs and stumpings.

For every four, a player earns 2.5 points, for a six - 3.5 points, for a wicket - 3.5 points, for a dot ball - 1 point and for every catch or stumping 2.5 points. All these points totalled together at the end of the season (after the final) will earn the top player of the list a MVP trophy.

Mumbai Indians star all-rounder Hayley Matthews currently leads the most valuable player (MVP) list in the ongoing Women's Premier League (WPL) 2023.

Matthews' MI teammates Natalie Sciver Brunt, Amelia Kerr and Saika Ishaque also appear on the WPL 2023 MVP leaderboard. It is pretty early in the tournament though as the winner will be decided only after the final.

Meanwhile, the likes of Shafali Varma, Kim Garth, Meg Lanning, Harmanpreet Kaur, Grace Harris, Tara Norris and Megan Schutt are also among the chasing pack. We expect to see a lot of change as the season progresses.

1Hayley Mattews (Mumbai Indians)4731245200138
2Natalie Sciver Brunt (Mumbai Indians)4332242310118.5
3Marizane Kapp (Delhi Capitals)46555300099
4Meg Lanning (Delhi Capitals)40032310093
5Shafali Verma (Delhi Capitals)400211020092.5
6Tahlia McGrath (UP Warriorz)421420420090
7Alyssa Healy (UP Warriorz)40031201188.5
8Saika Ishaque (Mumbai Indians)412460000088
9Sophie Ecclestone (UP Warriorz)48381120077
10Amelia Kerr (Mumbai Indians)46306100069.5

M - Matches Played; W - Wickets Taken; C - Catches; RO - Run Outs; STMP - Stumpings